City administration
of Chelyabinsk
official site
Online desk

Switch to Russian version
and ask a question

You are here

Sister Cities and Twin Towns

Sister cities are the cities from different countries with legal and social agreement among them in order to promote cultural and economical ties, sharing of experience and mutual understanding among nations. United Towns Organization (UTO) encourages development and friendship among cities and their population regardless of race, language, confession and political beliefs. Friendly ties among the cities that used to have similar historical background play a big role in the drive for peace. 

In the end of the 20th century and the beginning of the 21st century Chelyabinsk was twinned with a few big cities. Today our sister cities are Nottinghamshire (England), Columbia (the USA, South Carolina), Ramla (Israel) and Urumqi (China). 

However the capital of the South Ural is forging relationship not only with the exterior municipalities, but also with Russian cities what is of no less importance. At the present moment official sister cities of Chelyabinsk are Kazan (the Republic of Tatarstan, the Russian Federation), Ufa (the Republic of Bashkortostan, the Russian Federation), Omsk (the Russian Federation).